The ASHA Award for Continuing Education

Corie Viscomi
3 min readFeb 3, 2020

--

Like many professionals, speech-language pathologists are required to participate in a certain number of continuing education courses to maintain their license and/or certification. To satisfy the requirements for the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), speech-language pathologists are mandated to accumulate a minimum of thirty hours every three years.

For those that go above and beyond the minimum, ASHA has an Award for Continuing Education (ACE). According to ASHA, “The ACE is a formal recognition of professionals who have demonstrated their commitment to lifelong learning”. To earn an ACE, speech-language pathologists need to accumulate seventy hours of continuing education in a three year period, which is more than double the minimum requirement.

My first ACE

Earlier this week, ASHA notified me that I earned my third ACE. In the past five years, I have participated in two hundred thirty one hours of continuing education, which is slightly more than an average of forty six hours per year. That’s nearly five times more than the minimum needed to maintain my national certification.

So, what does all this mean for your child’s speech, language, and/or literacy therapy?

First and foremost, your child is receiving the best, most up-to-date therapy. This abundance of continuing education means that I am very well informed regarding current research and methodologies in the field of speech-language pathology. I am not relying on outdated information learned in graduate school, anecdotal evidence from colleagues, or old advice from a previous supervisor to make clinical decisions.

Secondly, if I don’t know the answer to something, I’ll work to find out. I am more than willing to put in the extra time to ensure that I am providing the best possible therapy for your child. There are conferences, workshops, videos, and journal articles for every aspect of the field. The answers are out there — you just have to know where to look!

Lastly, I am helping to better the field of speech-language pathology. In a discipline this large, it’s impossible to know everything. But, by working hard to improve my knowledge in my areas of specialization, I am improving outcomes for my clients everyday.

For speech-language pathologists, learning doesn’t stop after graduate school. We are continuously improving our skills, applying new techniques, and incorporating the latest research into our sessions. For me personally, it’s very meaningful to be recognized by ASHA for the time and passion I’ve put into my continuing education. My clients work hard each and every session, and their parents (and siblings!) have invested a lot of time into their therapy. They each deserve a clinician who is working just as hard on their behalf.

If your child needs speech, language, or literacy therapy, contact The Speech Studio at (914) 893–2223. A licensed and certified speech-language pathologist will work with your child to formulate a treatment plan that is right for your family. For more information about our unique therapy style, visit our website.

--

--